Siesta! Sleeping beauties…

Siesta in Cartagena Colombia

I came across these guys and surprised them on their siesta when I was roaming the streets of Cartagena back in 2006 looking for good photo opportunities and I recon this is one! The photo really captures the essence of the siesta: Drop all you’re doing! It is 12 o’clock and it is too damn hot to be doing anything other than sleep… yeah… right here! I don’t care if it is in the middle of the street! I am ready to chill out…

The carriage, which at this point is functioning as a bed, is usually pushed around the neighborhood selling fruits and other goodies. Now that I am practically living in Cartagena I have fallen in love with the siesta. Taking a 1-2 hour break in the middle of the day and just relax, chill out or just sleep is a fantastic invention. I can’t believe we have not adopted this in the west. It is probably some efficiency issue that you can try to explain to me for hours and I will never get it…. partly because I don’t want to.

 

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

